Access Denied Creating Publishing Page

Today I ran into an access denied error when trying to create a page within a SharePoint publishing site. After doing some research I find out that to create a new publishing page, you need at least read rights to the master page gallery. I opened up the master page gallery in my site collection, and sure enough, it wasn’t inheriting site permissions and my user had no permissions on the master page gallery. I gave my user read rights on the master page gallery and it took care of my problem. I can now create my publishing page!

Leave a Reply

